6th Bolivian Conference on Development Economics (BCDE2014)

 6th Bolivian Conference on Development Economics (BCDE2014)

Cochabamba, 28 - 29 August 2014


We are delighted to announce that the 6th Bolivian Conference on Development Economics will be held at the Campus of Universidad Privada Boliviana (UPB) in Cochabamba, Bolivia, on August 28th and 29th, 2014. This conference is jointly organized by the Institute for Advanced Development Studies (INESAD), the Society of Bolivian Economists (SEBOL), Universidad Privada Boliviana (UPB), and the Bolivian Academy of Economic Sciences (ABCE).

The conference will bring together local and international scholars for the exchange of ideas and discussion of recent results within theoretical and applied economics, and other disciplines related to development. We seek high quality academic work that enriches and challenges our knowledge. We particularly encourage female researchers and young Bolivian researchers to submit papers.

As highlights of the 2014 conference we will have two keynote lectures to be delivered by Hans Rosling (Gapminder Foundation) and Tyler Cowen (George Mason University), as well as Enrique García Rodríguez (CAF Development Bank of Latin America) and Augusto de la Torre (World Bank) as invited guest speakers. The conference will be organized to foster interaction and exchange of ideas among the participants in a comfortable atmosphere.

The 6th Bolivian Conference on Development Economics in Cochabamba follows up on five previous conferences held in La Paz and Santa Cruz, which had attracted prestigious researchers and policymakers from a variety of developed and developing countries, including keynote lectures by Norman Loayza, Miguel Urquiola, Beatriz Armendáriz, Máximo Torero, Santiago Levy, James Robinson, Rodrigo Soares, Eduardo Lora, Roberto Rigobon, and Eduardo Engel.

Format of presentations and discussion
The conference will largely consist of parallel sessions, plenary sessions, two keynote lectures, and one presentation by an invited guest speaker.

Paper submission
Researcher interested in participating should submit a paper (Word or PDF, English or Spanish) using the online submission site: https://editorialexpress.com/cgi-bin/conference/conference.cgi?action=login&db_name=BCDE2014.

The deadline for paper submission is June 15, 2014.

All submitted papers will be reviewed prior to acceptance for presentation. The review process will finish by July 4, 2014, and the organizers will notify applicants of the outcome by email soon after this date. A program with details of all scheduled presentations will be posted at the Conference’s web site.

Travel and accommodation
Presenters are expected to participate in the entire 2-day conference. All participants must cover their own travel and accommodation costs, but the organizers have made arrangements for preferential rates at Gran Hotel Cochabamba, Hotel Regina, Hotel Apart Regina, Toloma Gran Hotel, City Hotel, and Apart Hotel Violetas.

A travel stipend of 700 USD will be offered to some of the successful applicants residing outside Bolivia, based on the quality of their submissions. Applicants interested in being considered for one of these stipends, should send a request by e-mail to bcde2014@inesad.edu.bo right after submitting their paper.

Conference team
- Lykke Andersen (INESAD, SEBOL, ABCE)
- Oscar Molina (UPB, ABCE, SEBOL)
- Boris Branisa (INESAD, SEBOL)
- Antonio Saravia (SEBOL, Mercer University)
- Enrique García Ayaviri (ABCE)
- Pablo Selaya (SEBOL, University of Copenhagen)
- Luis Castro (SEBOL, UPB)
- Ricardo Nogales (UPB)
- Gustavo Zarate (UPB)
- Natalia Zegarra (INESAD).

Please feel free to contact us at bcde2014@inesad.edu.bo if you have questions.


Information about previous years' BCDE conferences:

        BCDE2012  BCDE2013